The Bullet Trap Illinois Concealed Carry Class Info
The new concealed carry regulation requires 16 hours of classroom instruction and live fire for qualification. The Bullet Trap divides these into two, 8-hour classes. The first eight hours are the Basic Pistol Safety Class (BPSC) and the second 8 hours are the Concealed Carry Class (CCC).
To help accommodate your schedule, we offer the 8-hour classes in two formats. An all-day class where the full 8 hour class is taken on a Saturday or Sunday. And a 2-Day class where the 8 hours is split into two 4-hour evening sessions, usually on Wednesday and Thursday from 5:30PM – 9:30PM. You can mix or match either format to fulfill your educational requirement.
You can qualify for the BPSC in several ways.
- DD 214 Military Card. ( 8 Hours )
- NRA Basic Pistol Class (8 Hours )
- Any combined 4-hour approved courses (see list below)
Below is a list of training courses acceptable to satisfy the prior training requirements, consistent with Section 75(i) of the Act, and the appropriate credit to be applied for each. Any of these approved courses can be COMBINED to fulfill the BPSC requirements if approved by the Instructor. It is the responsibility of the instructor to verify successful completion of prior training and apply credit as listed. Once this credit is combined with additional training hours provided by the instructor, the approved ILCCF Instructor will certify the 16-hours have been met. There is NO opt out for the CCC course requirement. Everyone must take the CCC course from a recognized ISP instructor.
ISP Approved Courses
Course Title / Acceptable Credit
Illinois Hunter Safety Course / 4 hours
Utah Concealed Carry / 4 hours
Florida Concealed Carry / 4 hours
Nevada Concealed Carry / 4 hours
Missouri Concealed Carry / 4 hours
Kentucky Concealed Carry / 4 hours
Michigan Concealed Carry / 4 hours
Chicago Firearms Safety Course / 4 hours
NRA Basic Pistol / 8 hours
NRA Personal Protection in the Home / 8 hours
NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home / 8 hours
Per the Act, Section 75.g. “Any remaining hours that the applicant completes must at least cover the classroom subject matter of paragraph (4) of subsection (b) of this Section, and the range qualification in subsection (c) of this Section.”
See our Class Calendar. Be careful to check dates and times as they may vary from week to week.
We now do all class range time during the first 2 hours of your ILCC class. We will shoot the BPSC first and the ILCC qualifying second. You need a handgun and 100 rounds of ammo fro the ILCC class. You do not need any equipment for the BPSC class. The BPSC class will utilize the SIRT guns with lasers for the initial training.
For those of you not taking our BPSC training (that opted out with other courses) please be aware that when you attend the CC class you will be expected to perform all of the shooting qualifications unaided and without help. You will shoot the range qualification the very first thing on class day. We will be looking for safe gun handling, knowing and following the 4 gun safety rules, ability to load and unload your firearm un-aided, a positive attitude and a 70% score on a B-27 target at 5, 7, and 10 yards. Anyone failing to meet the above standards will receive a refund for the class along with a recommendation for additional training. We realize some of you have never fired a handgun or it was a very long time ago. If that is the case, please consider taking the BPSC first. We want everyone to be successful on their first attempt. Granting the CCW completion certificate is at the discretion of your instructor as to whether you meet the standard. The Bullet Trap takes the qualification process very seriously and want everyone to leave confident and safe.
IL Concealed Carry Facts
We would like to offer some thoughts and insights to the new Illinois Concealed Carry law recently passed and known as HB 183.
Illinois is now a Shall Issue State under a new state law known as HB 183.
There are a few ways you might be initially denied:
- Any law enforcement agency may submit an objection to a license applicant based upon a reasonable suspicion that the applicant is a danger to himself or herself or others or a threat to public safety.
- If an applicant has 5 or more arrests for any reason, that have been entered into the Criminal History Records Information (CHRI) System, within the 7 years preceding the date of application for a license, or has 3 or more arrest within within 7 years preceding the application for any combination of gang-related offenses.
- If no objections are received from law enforcement the license shall be granted within 90 days of completed application. If an objection is received the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board shall issue a decision within 30 days of denial in most cases.
Qualifications for a License
- 21 years of Age.
- Current and valid FOID.
- Have not been convicted or found guilty in this or any other state of:
- A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person with in the preceding 5 years.
- 2 or more violations related to DWI, drugs or alcohol, within the preceding 5 years.
- No pending arrest warrant prosecution, or proceeding that would disqualify owning or possessing a firearm.
- No residential or court ordered treatment for alcohol or drugs within preceding 5 years.
- Has completed firearms training and education. 16 Hours.
All are non-refundable and good for 5 Years.
Initial Application – $150
Non-resident – $300
Renewal – $150
These are numerous and will be covered thoroughly in the CCW portion of your training.
An applicant for a new license shall provide proof of completion of firearms training from an approved training facility of 16 hours, which must include range qualifications. The ISP approved class must include the following:
- Firearm safety
- Basic principle of marksmanship
- Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a firearm
- All applicable state and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm
- Instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm
- An applicant for a new license shall provide proof from a certified instructor they have passed a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:
- A minimum of 30 rounds.
- 10 shots at 5yds, 7yds, and 10 yds each. These rounds will be shot a B27 silhouette target requiring a passing score of 70% or better.
- Renewal applicant will require 3 hours of training.
8-hour Safety Training Opt-out
- Active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the US Armed Forces – DD214 millitary card (8 hours).
- NRA basic pistol safety class (8 hours).
- Any combined 4 hr approved courses-see list below.
Course Title / Acceptable Credit
Illinois Hunter Safety Course / 4 Hours
Utah Concealed Carry / 4 Hours
Florida Concealed Carry / 4 Hours
Nevada Concealed Carry / 4 Hours
Missouri Concealed Carry / 4 Hours
Kentucky Concealed Carry / 4 Hours
Michigan Concealed Carry / 4 Hours
Chicago Firearms Safety Course / 4 Hours
NRA Basic Pistol / 8 Hours
NRA Personal Protection in the Home / 8 Hours
NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home / 8 Hours
- Does not follow the orders of the certified instructor.
- Does not handle the firearm in a safe and responsible manner.
- Fails to score 70% or better on the B-27 target.
States that will recognize Illinois CC.
AL, AK, AZ, AR, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NC, OH, OK, SD, TN, UT, VT, VA, WI
For more information about CC Permit Reciprocity, visit https://www.usacarry.com/concealed_carry_permit_reciprocity_maps.html.
Illinois does not have reciprocity with any other state.
The above listed states recognize CC permits from all states and do not require agreements from the state of Illinois. Use caution and be familiar with each states CC laws and regulations.